If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

embroiled
2004-07-28 @ 1:11 a.m.

It's 1 in the morning and I'm dusting my living room, like the maniac I secretly am. My building manager called me yesterday and wanted to know if I was planning to extend my lease for another year and by the way the rent increase is 50 bucks a month and she has to know by this Friday at the very latest, even though my lease isn't up until October 1st. This high-pressure shit makes me angry angry. What else is funny is that I'm the tenant with the most seniority, and I've lived there less than two years. Perhaps there are reasons for this.

C offered to go in with me on a two-bedroom, but I don't know if he's doing this because he actually wants to live with me or if he is just being helpful and nice. (Depressingly, I was reading through my old entries to figure out when my lease ended--it's the closest thing to a paper trail I have without going through my "filing box", which mixes tax stuff, lease info, museum brochures, recipes, paid utility bills, magazines, and various pieces of paper I thought were interesting at some point--and we were dealing with this exact same dilemma two years ago. Things change glacially in the World of C.)

Plus, I don't know if I want a roommate. He tends to "steal" random crap from the places he visits: six Budweiser coasters, three brochures about Portland, Oregon, five acorns. (I found them on his shelf just now, thought they were cute although I don't know their provenance, left them. Threw the coasters away.) If you notice a similarity to anything else in this entry, you are correct, except I don't grab multiple copies. That makes it all OK.

Seriously, one person's junk is another person's treasure and we are both such hoarders that I fear to think what our putative apartment would look like. Neither one of us is real good on the apartment hygiene, either (in manic mode I will make it spotless, I'll wash the inside of the cabinet doors and scrub the baseboards, but this only happens every few months). I don't know. On the other hand, how do you ever know if things will work unless you try them? Maybe it's time to like leap into the void.

I could seriously go back and forth about this all night. Otherwise, though, things are fine. My best friend from college is coming for a long visit next week, and the day she leaves, Mr. NY (aka The Boy I'm Supposed to Sleep With) is arriving. Am ambivalent, but this too is not a new thing. We will have to talk, really. I didn't realize how much of my interest in him was the thrill of the chase... post-conquest, my feelings are less than torrid, and I have a feeling his are too. But I could be wrong. JME and I went to a burlesque show, which was awesome. Lately I'm kind of interested in everything she's into (tarot, Wicca, cutting my hair really short, living in Ukrainian Village). It's very Single White Female of me, no doubt. I hope she doesn't notice. Good thing she doesn't have a girlfriend I'd have to kill with a spike heel to the eye--that would be pretty hard to hide.

Single White Female really sucked, what with its implication that behind every tentative new female friend one might make is a murderous lesbian (come on, they're all murderous) who will steal your identity, kill your boyfriend, and then off herself in some boring way I've forgotten, leading to a happy ending for Bridget Fonda because even though her life is in ruins, she can now begin the search for a new roommate.

Maybe sleep. Maybe dust more.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.