If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

nothing doing
2004-07-08 @ 9:40 p.m.

Kind of a placeholder entry, this. Things going along in their typical groove. Working working. Trying to explain to my author--not in so many words--that even though he may once have been on the cutting edge of the brand-new field of cultural anthropology, that was in 1972, and the fact that he's been coasting on that ever since is the reason he's working with us now, and the fact that he's working with us now is the reason he has to pay for his own shipping and is being treated so like, shabbily. I do what I can.

Still have done nothing on the Big Secret Plan to go to grad school next fall. Step One is actually writing something new, which hasn't happened. Step One-Half is starting to read more in contemporary poetry, and I have been doing some of that. Possibly that counts. Haven't looked at my old stuff (from college) in years. Should do that soon to see if any of it's salvageable or if I'd have to start a new portfolio from scratch.

Most schools seem to have a deadline of January 1 for a complete portfolio, application fees, GRE scores, application essays, etc., for entrance in fall 2005. So I have to get off my ass in the next few months or forget the whole plan until 2006. Do something else in the interim. Get married? No, too complicated. Although it would mean that I could someday refer to C as "my ex-husband" instead of "my incestuous sibling from a previous life", which tends to get weird stares when you bring it up at parties. He's been in Quebec for two weeks, working; I miss him. Probably he's just been hanging out in his basement this whole time, sending e-mails every couple days to explain that his cell phone doesn't work in Canada so I shouldn't expect any phone calls. Watching lots of TiVo. Jerk.

I have a big crush on a girl but am not sure if it's a real crush, i.e. I'd like to date her, or I just really like her as a person and am becoming confused because of my annoying (pre-existing) need to sexualize everything. Ah, the plight of the open-minded fake bisexual. I sort of want to hang out with her all the time and cook for her (am perfecting my vegan mac-and-cheese) and buy her books and drinks and stupid stickers. What does that mean?

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.