If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

I really must put more effort into these titles
2002-10-09 @ 9:20 p.m.

First of all, the book group... I don't know what to say. I could be really snarky and tell you that they were all ten years older than me and live in the far western suburbs and are all married and actively reproducing, probably as you read this. Or, I could tell you that the discussion was surprisingly lively. People didn't like the book (although their comments about its suckage were very restrained, out of politeness I suspect). But everyone was articulate about why it sucked so much, and what it says about the role of women in today's society that books like this are so popular. It was really cool. Then when I was finally getting into the discussion it stopped so everyone could admire the baby... then they spent like half an hour talking about some friend of theirs who is renovating a house in the French countryside but is having problems with her marriage (no kidding, no satire here)...

The bottom line is that they're a fully formed group of friends. And I don't think they would be mine unless I drop a few of my knee-jerk intellectual pretensions. Which were probably unearned anyway, since what I mostly read when left to my own devices is historical nookie'n'murder fiction and vegan cookbooks. Hm, those don't go well together, do they?

So I have mixed feelings. It went way better than I thought it would, and they are much too nice to keep making fun of here. But I don't think we would ever converse in the outside world if there was no arbitrarily assigned book to discuss. So in that sense it was kind of a bust.

I must sleep now, but remind me to tell you the Fogo de Chao story. I won't now because I feel too boring to do it justice at the moment. It's good though, trust me. It may have been the single worst Friday evening I have ever had. Okay, the worst Friday evening in which I got to see a good friend for the first time in a year or so and he paid for everything.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.