If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

oh my god that was dumb
2002-10-03 @ 9:26 p.m.

I have to go to a book group meeting on Saturday. This is my first-ever book group and I am terrified. My very nice cubiclemate keeps inviting me to her group's gatherings, and I didn't think it would be sporting to refuse a fifth time... she is a chatty and smart person with a whole mess of girlfriends, with whom she is always going out to lunch, and she seems to have no psychological disorders whatsoever. I think she has been able to accurately pinpoint my complete lack of girlfriends, which is why she invited me. I would like to learn how to have girl friends, which is why I said I would go...

But oh my god is this book dumb. Have I mentioned that? Advance word is that everyone else in the book group liked it (except for the ending), although they did say it was "light reading." So do I admit that I thought it sucked ass? Perhaps not in those words? "She had not noticed before how prominent his lips were. Or the way his eyes, long and green as blades of grass, smoldered." Sexy! He sounds like a recently used lawnmower. Should I mention that satire is apparently achieved by naming a famous film director "Brad Bergspiel" (get it? get it?) and making him 85 years old?

I doubt it's socially acceptable book group behavior to wave at everyone and take my flask of whiskey off to the bathroom...

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.