If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

amnesia insurance
2002-08-24 @ 3:49 p.m.

If I suddenly developed amnesia, I think it would be possible to reconstruct my entire life, from age thirteen or so, through the contents of my apartment. Today I am trying to put said contents into large cardboard boxes (which will inevitably break open and spill their contents on the stairs or sidewalk or alley)... I'm in a pretty good mood though. I've actually thrown about two garbage bags' worth of paper away this morning. A year of old Vegetarian Times (those were hard to part with). A notebook with clip-n'-save vegetarian recipes I put together in high school (oddly, that was less difficult to throw away). The procedures manual from a job I haven't had in 2 1/2 years--meaning that even if I should someday wish to, I will never again be able to process General Motors auto-warranty finance plans by debiting the customer's bank account or credit card and sending the dealership their commission check after the customer's second payment is made. I can safely say that this is a skill I will never need again. And yet, I had to debate whether or not to keep the manual. Seriously, for a full minute. There is part of me that wants to fish it out of the trash. In case I ever write a novel? And the main character has a job in finance? And I have to use words like "no-chargeback" and "ACH routing"? For verisimilitude?

It's a good thing trash pickup day was yesterday, because the dumpster is empty now and I'm too short to reach the bottom. Otherwise I might be heading out the door right now, to save my procedures manual from its horrible fate.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.