If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

acupuncture and snarky meat musings
2002-08-20 @ 7:17 p.m.

Just had my acupuncture appointment so I'm in a good mood. I don't know if I'm losing any weight--my clothes fit just the same--but it's doing something. I mean, I still sit in this apartment all weekend worrying about whether the scrape on my ankle has turned gangrenous (yes, I'm a hypochondriac loser, we've totally been over that); but at other times I feel active. Energetic! I can actually walk places instead of taking the bus. I'm not spending every waking moment as close to horizontal as possible. That can't be all placebo.

They're getting more people for the study, so today I was joined in the Electric Needle Room (just kidding, the needles aren't electric, but I can never resist a Simpsons reference) by a very nice woman who unfortunately just started on the Atkins diet. I didn't know what to say about that. I don't think it's my place to talk people out of things or to force my own philosophies on them, but the Atkins diet creeps me out. That much meat can't be good for anyone. Plus, what's the point of starting a diet you couldn't stay on for your whole life? 99% of people who lose weight gain it all back because they just get tired of counting calories or eating nothing but yogurt or bacon milkshakes. Anyway, once I'd dodged her offer to lend me the Atkins book we were on safer ground and had all these cool things in common: I'm moving to the same block she lived on for 12 years; she's from Guatemala City and so is C's whole family, so we got to talk about Guatemalan food and how Hispanic mothers always spoil their sons; being in the study; losing weight; drinking when you're anxious. She even gave me a ride home. I would have invited her up, but the apartment is too crunktacular and won't be improving. I'm a little worried that she might invite me over for supper someday, though. It would be nice of her but it would be a total meatfest and rude of me to only eat the refried beans... C's family eats so much meat you just want to fall over. Luckily I've known them for six years and his mom understands that I'm not trying to be rude by refusing her cooking (which is rumored to be excellent). I think they just figure that C turned out really weird, so it's only natural that he should have a weird girlfriend...

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.