If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

people whose work ethic is different from mine
2004-08-28 @ 8:05 a.m.

Cleaning out the desk, I came across this letter my grandma wrote me in February 2003, when she would have been 77. I'll quote you the relevant part...

"I got called back the 13th of January to [the gardening and seed catalog store where she works from January to September every year]. Have been working 9 hours a day. I'm wrapping boxes of seeds and pots and everything else. Will probably start on the potatos in another week so will probably only work 8 hours and it's a sit-down job, too. Get supper and do dishes, but don't do much of anything else when I get home. I do go to card party [social hour where they play euchre and sheepshead for money] twice a week with your dad, but we're home by 9:30. ... K. didn't have to work last night so didn't have [to babysit] B. and J. [my 7- and 5-year-old unholy terrors of cousins] today. Always so much to do on weekends..."

So, let's review--my 77-year-old grandmother is looking forward to an eight-hour work day where she gets to sit down, as opposed to her current 9-hours-on-feet; when she gets home every night she makes supper and does the dishes (I am 0 for 2 on that most evenings), she babysits my cousins on her days off, and she has more of a social life than I do.

I did not inherit even the slightest bit of this work ethic, but I am impressed and respectful nonetheless. (OK, I sort of think she's nuts, but in a respectful way.)

P.S. She makes her own hamburger buns for picnics. From scratch.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.