If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

burbling
2003-12-17 @ 9:57 p.m.

Feeling pretty good. I'm making Chinese long beans with "firecracker" sauce--sugar, vinegar, salt, a hell of a lot of minced garlic, and two tablespoons of Sambal Oelek chili paste. I found this recipe in the vegetarian Thai cookbook I've never made anything out of before, and I may very well want to eat it every day for the next month. These monofood phases are common--all I can do is ride them out and hope for balance. Recent monofood phases have included peanut butter, masala dosai from Udupi Palace, vegan sandwiches from Mimi at the Long Room, peanut butter, and Trader Joe's fake chicken nuggets with barbecue sauce (thankfully that one didn't last too long--the nuggets smelled just like McDonalds and it started to freak me out).

No word from "Brett"--no real surprise there. He was a little distressed when I told him I was going to a vegan restaurant on Sunday (instead of to the Bears game like him). I think he had bad associations with the word "vegan"; I tried to explain but the niceties of "vegan" vs. "vegan sympathizer who hasn't stopped wearing leather shoes" were a little beyond him. Well, they're beyond me most days, even when I'm not drunk, so I can't hold it against him...

Cyril and I are going to the opera on 24 hours' notice, thanks to a nice coworker who has season tickets but had a time conflict tomorrow night. Worst seats in the house, but it will be lovely just to be there; Cyril seemed thrilled at the prospect too. He's the perfect friend to go with because he knows a lot about classical music, and he has opera glasses.

Sometimes, lately, I feel like a person whom others are happy to hear from and to hang out with--not someone who's a burden or who has to be Managed. Not sure if that (the burden thing) was ever the case, but I always felt that way. This is much better.

Other reasons I'm really cool: my nostril piercing is healing up nicely, and in a few months when it's completely healed, I'm going to put matching rings in my nose and eyebrow. Small ones, dark blue titanium. I ordered them already. And, Eleventh Dream Day's classic album Prairie School Freakout has been reissued by Thrill Jockey, which means my twelve-year quest for it--ever since I decided against buying the cassette version one freshman-year-addled day at the Exclusive Company in Madison (in favor of Temple of the Dog or, yikes, The Spaghetti Incident, or something else I could have bought a million times over) and of course was never able to find it again--has ended.

Sorry about that last sentence. Also, there should be some links in this entry but my computer is so jacked I fear that any attempt at finding and linking to other pages will make the whole thing lock up. Even posting this will be an accomplishment. (Am trying, at 900 bytes per second, to download Spybot as recommended by Lass and Mnvnjnsn... may give up for now and get it later...)

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.