If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

I'd like to bathe the world in Clearasil
2003-11-12 @ 1:33 p.m.

I just picked up another freelance editing project--good for my finances since I was coming to the end of the spare cash from the last one. (It was fun to walk around with money in my pocket and be able to go to the ATM like a normal person--ATMs are generally off-limits to me since I typically have less than $20 in my checking account after paying off my various creditors, and you have to withdraw money in multiples of $20. I'm never actually, officially broke since once the checking account money runs out, I can use my credit card. Which is how I got into this mess in the first place. Although I have been paying my credit card debt down, significantly, over the last couple years, and may even get it paid off next year. So I feel that I am well on the road to Fiscal Responsibility, and soon my father will no longer be able to make fun of me when he sees me buying groceries on credit.)

Well, that was interesting!

No, the point is that I really need this freelance project but the timing could not be worse, since it is evidently a special rush-rush project that they need back the day after Thanksgiving, which means I need to return it to them by the 26th since I'll be out of town after that. So I'll be working two sixty-hour weeks between now and Thanksgiving, and am quailing at the prospect. Quailing!

Really, it'll be fine--it's just that I'm sitting here waiting for the messenger so I haven't even seen what shape the galleys are in, and it feels like these are my last few seconds of freedom, even though this is TOTALLY irrational given that I was hoping for another freelance thing and it's not like I don't get big money (more than the real job pays me) for doing these freelance things...

Really, it'll be fine.


The other thing I did today was get my driver's license renewed--although I no longer drive and haven't needed a car in my daily life since 1996, it would be bad if it expired, cause then I'd have to retake the road test. And no one wants that. Getting it renewed was a piece of cake--in and out in less than an hour--although I did have to retake the vision test, which involves lighting up the peripheral vision display by pressing a bar with your forehead, and the bar was covered with the forehead grease of many, many of my predecessors. I can feel the adult acne forming even as we speak. So, so icky. But tonight is a belated birthdayfest for Lass--which means fake meat, Guinness, and excellent company will be involved--so despite all these other horrible inconsequential problems, life remains good.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.