If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

"another day, another box of stolen pens"
2003-11-08 @ 8:42 a.m.

On today's agenda: laundry. Four weeks' worth of laundry. As in, I am wearing my very last pair of underwear. (Ever since I realized laundry times could be stretched from weekly to biweekly to monthly with no ill effects besides a few marginal work outfits, it has been very hard to go back.)

The problem is that I must gather this laundry from the four corners of the earth (okay, the 42 corners of my apartment). Life is difficult. That's why I'm here now, typing this, instead of at the laundromat peacefully sipping coffee.

Went out with apothecary last night and had a fun time--we ate at this diner in River North that seemed to have been magically transported (non-ironically!) from early 1960s central Wisconsin. They had a "Waist Watcher" special--your choice of chicken salad or ground beef on a plate with cottage cheese, tomato slice, and pineapple ring. Also the "Slenderella" burger, which I did not try. In their one concession to the new millennium, there was a vegetable stir-fry, which was quite good. Broccoli and almonds are always OK with me... Then we saw a lovely set of performances by the Luna Negra dance company. I really like watching dance even if I can't always articulate why, or know much of the vocabulary or formal concepts. When I saw LN a couple weeks ago at the Harold Washington auditorium they did one piece called "Late (After Siesta)" which was, according to the director, about the constant communication two people have in a relationship--they may not always like each other or agree with each other but they're always communicating... anyway, at the end of the piece the dancers were sort of standing in an embrace and the woman pulled this red ribbon out of the man's shirt and backed away and wound it around herself--like it was his heart or something. I damn near cried, it was that moving. But I Guess You Had to Be There.

Then apothecary had to go home and clean his apartment, and I fell asleep on the L.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.