If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

my enchanted evening
2003-03-09 @ 1:57 a.m.

Someone stood me up tonight... first time that's ever happened. Although I suspect (just a vibe) that it didn't have much to do with me personally.

Cat Power was amazing. Rumor had it that she couldn't even finish one song per set (which is how it was on her last tour) but she finished like 5 or 6 tonight while I was listening, and the band sounded great. Some people did seem to be bitching and leaving early, but I was too far from the stage to be able to tell why. Was it because her band was carrying too much of the song? It wasn't a super-polished performance or anything, but her voice was beautiful and the emotion was coming through. It was about a million times better than when I saw her 3 years ago.

I was really out of it though--not drunk but very very tired--falling asleep with my head against the banister. Not good. Is this a physiological problem? Why can't I stay up past 12:30? I don't think other 25-year-olds have this problem. But it happened at the Aterciopelados show too (Carlos and I were leaning against a wall and my knees kept buckling, literally, because I was falling asleep). Maybe it's an anxiety thing. The last time I remember having so little control over my sleep was sophomore year of high school, riding the bus into town. No matter how much coffee I drank at home or how much sleep I'd gotten the night before, I inevitably would fall asleep on this girl's shoulder while the bus was rattling along the back roads and the elementary school kids were screaming up front. We'd both be sitting there and all of a sudden my head would flop over--I would wake up for a few seconds when it touched something, either her shoulder or the seat back in front of us. Then the cycle would repeat. It was really embarrassing and it happened every day. At the time I thought it was because I really didn't want to go to school. But I don't know why the same thing would happen now.

Some Italian guy (like, from Italy) gave me a free ticket to the Calexico show on Monday, said he couldn't use it. I was probably rude to him, since I distrust absolutely everyone and I thought he was hitting on me. Then he disappeared. I think he was just being a nice person. Am a bad ambassador for my country.

There was lots of carefully disheveled hair at this show and numerous instances of ironic little hipster glasses. There was one yuppie guy there, and he stole my cab. Eventually I got home though. That is all.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.