If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

pueblo pie
2003-02-09 @ 6:56 p.m.

Sort of drunk, after many cups of sake at Renga-Tei with C. Now he's off playing Whirlyball and I'm back home trying to muster the energy to make Pueblo Pie so I have something to eat this week. Pueblo Pie is probably some sort of horrible aberration--at least to anyone who's ever watched Rick Bayless's cooking show--but I will not apologize (except possibly for the name, which I did not invent)--it's good comfort food. It's basically a hamburger casserole with successive layers of chili beans, corn and green onions, cheese, corn tortillas, and tomato sauce. The "hamburger" is SmartGround Original soy crumbles, and the "cheese" is roasted red pepper, chickpeas, tahini, and lemon juice blended together. So, basically hummus I guess. It works in this casserole though.

Wish I had more to say. Wish I wasn't drunk. Have been having bad social-anxiety dreams in which I am in college, but the dynamics and even most of the people are repeated from high school. I have a crush on someone and I confess it to his friend, whereupon the entire class starts laughing at me for being out of my league and for not understanding how these things are done. The classes are also very high school--I am taking home ec., phys. ed, and trig. I consider transferring to another school, or possibly dropping out, to escape the incessant mockery and the monotony of the nine-period day, but then I wake up and remember that I graduated from college almost four years ago. Unless I start writing again and apply for an MFA program, there will probably be no more schooling for me. I don't think I like that. If I had the time and money, I'd go back and get another bachelor's degree--but this wish, and this regret, are probably why I keep having that dream in the first place.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.