If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

my boyfriend is distressed on behalf of vegans everywhere
2002-04-26 @ 8:23 p.m.

C is progressing nicely.

Today at the grocery store he found a bottle of Goya's Bitter Orange Marinade, which he thought would make an excellent sour orange drink with some soda water added (he said, "Why put it on meat?"). I condoned the purchase, but five minutes later he put it back, saying "Did you see the ingredients list? This has like 12 percent preservatives and I don't need it in my body." These quotes are verbatim!

The best thing he's said so far on this topic was last year, though, after his annual corporate barbecue and pig roast. And understand, this is a person whose favorite foods, before he met me, were his mom's beef brisket stew and carnitas, that weird fresh pork product with lime juice and salsa that all the Latino groceries have on Saturday mornings. (He still likes those foods, but I digress.) Anyway, he called me right after the corporate pig roast to say, with genuine distress:

"Yeah, the barbecue was OK. But it was not vegan-friendly at all! There were like three kinds of meat and so much mayonnaise in the potato salad..."

He's turning into me! Ha ha ha. I think I'll make a chocolate pudding cake for him.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.