If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

a traitor to my side
2002-03-19 @ 9:06 p.m.

I feel so unclean. The Illinois primary was today and I voted Republican. This is the first time I have ever even considered such a thing.

Don't worry; I haven't totally betrayed my lefty Democrat Gore-voting roots. It was all a clever gambit. See, there are three Democratic candidates for governor, all of whom are pro-choice. There are three or four Republican candidates, only one of whom, Corinne Wood, is pro-choice. If Corinne Wood wins the Republican party nomination, that guarantees that the next governor of Illinois will be pro-choice. Unless someone flip-flops, of course. So I read the instructions twice and picked off the Corinne Wood #10 chad very carefully.

Voting Republican was a strange experience, though. My earliest political memory is of my parents' Mondale/Ferraro sign in the front yard. I think they would disown me if I ever voted genuinely for a Republican. Also, I kept wanting to explain my clever pro-choice gambit to the nice hippie-looking volunteers at the polling place and thereby win back their respect. However, they were very professional and did not betray their disgust with so much as the flicker of an eyelash, leaving me no opportunity to talk strategy with them. I think that is frowned on anyway, since one's vote is supposed to be all secret and everything.

Now I am watching the news. Think one person can change the world?

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.