If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

can't sleep, clown will eat me
2002-03-19 @ 5:17 a.m.

Can't sleep. Manic. Manic. Waiting for it to get light outside so I can go to work and give The Company its eight hours. I will work nonstop today because I have been slacking so hard. Yeah. C is snoring peacefully and loudly. He is, unfortunately, a very active sleeper with a repertoire that includes flailing, pillow-stealing, and muttering in two languages, in addition to the aforementioned snoring. Sometimes the little saw-cutting-a-log cartoon graphic actually appears above his head. I, on the other hand, sleep so lightly that I sometimes wake up when the refrigerator kicks in... so I have been awake since 3:00 reading diaries and playing Snood.

I told C about this diary yesterday. It was actually a big relief, because he would have found it on his own eventually. Now I feel much more free to get excited about Diaryland in his presence and tell him about good diaries and forward quizzes to him, etc... I enlisted him for help in choosing his nickname, but he was unable to come up with any non-facetious suggestions. First he wanted "normal guy names" like 'Ed' or 'Richard', then some sort of deliberately anonymous IM stalker handle like 'kooldude6734', then 'Life Person 3' because he is one of the people in my life. I think I will stick to 'C' for now.

But did I tell you he quit his job? He gave two weeks' notice on Friday, and I am so proud of him. That job was the biggest dead-end--seriously, he could have done better working at McDonalds, where he would have been promoted to manager in six months (although the only benefit there is that you can order 16-year-olds to mop the floor and say things like "I'm down a McChicken" and have people understand you). Now we are all making plans for his life, most of which involve school in some way. One plan involves joining the Navy on a ROTC scholarship, or something like that. It's what his best friend did. The Navy pays for your college and gives you a humungous stipend each month and a signing bonus and then when you graduate you owe them five years of your life, riding around in a submarine or whatever. There are several obvious flaws to this plan (not least of which is that C would look really stupid with his head shaved, although he could donate his insanely gorgeous hair to cancerous children and feel slightly better about it), but many benefits as well. Free college is a good thing. Also, he would necessarily become more disciplined and productive, put his nose to the grindstone, straighten up and fly right, etc. Still, the military... I don't know. I have some issues with the military.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.