If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

I'm not necessarily back
2005-02-05 @ 8:22 p.m.

But I seem to have a meme to do (thanks, amiga). Even though I'm not quite postmodern enough to know precisely what that is. I seem to recall it being defined for me multiple times in the course of my fake education but now have forgotten. It seems to be taking the form of questions about music:

1. Total amount of music files on your computer.
Zero! Carlos has more than enough for both of us. I used to be kind of technologically adept circa 1995 and even knew what "dosshell" was. I have gradually relinquished absolutely all knowledge in this area to him, in my typical surrendered wife kind of way.

2. The last CD you bought.
Hildegard of Bingen, A Feather on the Breath of God. I have been listening to more early music and chants lately, but switching back and forth gives me whiplash. Before that, probably the Pixies' CDLive concert recording at the Aragon on 11/15/04.

3. The last song you listened to before reading this message.
Right now I have The Animals playing, and it's a craptacular song called "Roadrunner". I like this band a lot, but I really miss their greatest hits cassette. That was just about all you needed to hear of them, and unlike this 2-CD package, it had "The Story of Bo Diddley". My dad made off with it and now I have this 2-CD set which is padded with weird B-sides and extended versions. I've only listened to the first CD because the songs on the second CD have titles like "River Deep, Mountain High" and "It's All Meat". What? So far this has been frightening rather than intriguing.

4. Name five songs that you listen to often or that mean a lot to you.
Wilco, "I Am Trying to Break Your Heart". "You were so right / When you said I'd been drinking / What was I thinking when I let you back in?"
Mazzy Star, "Bells Ring". Beautiful. I don't know what to say.
Violent Femmes, "Add It Up". At heart I am a sex-starved 16-year-old boy.
Eleventh Dream Day, "North of Wasteland". "There was a tree / That grew outside my window ... It held a fruit of fatal mystery / And it soothed me to think / That it grew so close to me."
Nirvana, "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?" Basically, the end of their MTV Unplugged album with all the Meat Puppets covers, All Apologies, and this song is still enough to make me stop whatever I'm doing and just listen. Have learned not to play it while trying to leave for work.

. Who will you pass this stick to and why?
My buddy D.N. Resuscitate, who rivals me in lack of blog discipline and is more of a hipster than I am. What was that weird German rock song I kept making you play?

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.