If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

I am the master of diplomacy
2004-04-13 @ 10:27 a.m.

Or maybe not--actually probably not--but I am really really trying to be assertive without being an asshole:

Hi Cyril,

I got your message--thanks for the invitation. Sadly, I would prefer to wait until after my "adult enrichment" class ends. I've gone back and forth about whether to say anything, but when we hung out the last time I felt you were very patronizing about it (pointedly asking if the teacher had a Ph.D., making fun of the pictures on the syllabus, insinuating that it was more like a high school class, etc.) and your negativity has taken some of the joy out of it for me. Obviously I was excited about the class and the readings or I wouldn't have paid to take it. I've put up with some condescension from you, inadvertent or not, in the past--about my leisure pursuits, background, etc.--because you are so smart and have great insight into whatever you turn your intellect on, and you ARE better read than me. This time it just was more pronounced.

I hope you'll still want to be friends--it would be sad for me if you didn't--but I had to say this. Maybe you would have more fun in life, too, if you were less judgmental. I know it's hard when there are so many idiots in the world...

Hope all is well with you and that your Passover wasn't too stressful. I went home for Easter and that was a little nutty--27 people crammed into two rooms and all the family resentments just simmering. But we had a lamb cake and sweet potato casserole, which made it mostly OK.


Now if I could just manage to return Mr. NY's calls and somehow explain to him that although it was fun to sleep together, I think we should try and return to our platonic friendship. Don't know why I'm not interested--I'm just not. Have been avoiding him because I don't have a good explanation for this, but the whole time it was happening I sort of wished we were playing Boggle.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.