If a cow ever got the chance...

Newest Older Profile Book Notes D-Land

150 years of farmer genetics
2002-08-14 @ 3:38 a.m.

Hi. The freelance thing is kicking my ass. I have to send it back today or they'll miss the publication date.

I'm in control of its destiny!

I have a hundred pages left.

No, I haven't been up all night, I got up about ten minutes ago. The plan is to work until six (AND FINISH, DAMMIT), then shower and get to work by 7:30 so I can print out my little invoice and FedEx the whole bloody thing, and be done with it at 8 so I can start my real job. (Unfortunately, today's RealJob task is checking Adobe Acrobat PDF files against identical files that were created in another program. There is not much hope for continuous wakefulness.)

In college I wrote all my papers this way. The day before they were due I would go to the computer lab at a timely hour and sit in front of the screen. I'd write two sentences. Then check my e-mail again. Then look up song lyrics on the Internet. Then go have a cigarette. Eventually it would become clear that I had less than 24 hours and no motivation, and I would go home and go to sleep at 8 p.m. Then I would get up at 3 a.m. and mosey over to the now-deserted computer lab and type like a madman until 9:45, when I would print it out for the 10 a.m. class. It worked. The only problem was that sometimes I would realize what I should really have been trying to say at like 7:25, when it was too late to change the direction. A couple of my papers came back with notations like "The first three pages of this seem like filler." Yeah man, that's because I don't hit my stride until 5 a.m.

What can I say? I'm a farmer, not a night person. I have to get up at the crack of dawn to like watch the wheat grow.

<<|>>

You might have missed...

wah - 2005-03-14 - 9:24 a.m.

Let's review - 2005-03-07 - 7:29 p.m.

- - 2005-03-02 - 1:07 a.m.

yay? - 2005-02-16 - 5:53 p.m.

all apologies - 2005-02-15 - 5:56 p.m.

� Buttercup, veg.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict.